primaNOTION

Just another WordPress.com site

First Quilt to Sell!

with 3 comments

My apologies I have been neglecting my sewing and this blog, but I had good reason! Last week I had a bit of an accident involving a kitchen knife the resulted in an overnight stay in the hospital, hand surgery and seven stitches!  I have now been advised to try to start normal use of my thumb again and spent all morning on the sewing machine!

For those of you who don’t know I have been working on my etsy store!  I am excited to have it nearly ready to launch, I just need some quilts to list!!  So this morning I pulled out this fabric because I didn’t buy it with anyone in mind and I thought the fabric was gender neutral.

I selected one of the quilts from my flickr inspiration gallery.  I wanted a basic pattern that I could complete in one day, so I selected this quilt.  That pile of fabric quickly became this stack of 4″ squares.  Looking at the picture from FITF’s blog I think her squares may have been a bit larger, but that’s ok.

 

A few hours later I was admiring this baby quilt pleased as punch with myself.  The quilt measures 43″x 53″.  I need to order some more fabric for the binding and the back of the quilt but I’m pretty sure I’ll go with a yellow or orange for the back to keep it gender neutral.

I made a few of these blocks to use on the back, I like the pieced back look. 

Not bad for a saturday morning huh?

Written by Kyishia

March 12, 2011 at 6:01 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. [...] First Quilt to Sell! (primanotion.wordpress.com) [...]

  2. [...] requirements, block tutorial and mailing address are here.  I used some scraps left over from my latest project.  This block will measure 10″ finished.  I am starting to build a nice stash, I even [...]

  3. [...] this week!  The other day when the new fabric arrived I also got the back and binding fabric for this quilt.  I initially planned to use the orange fabric for the back and the patterned fabric for the [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

