primaNOTION

Just another WordPress.com site

In a Fabric Frenzy

leave a comment »

I found myself BACK in the Remnant Warehouse taking advantage of the sale during my lunch break on Friday!  My goodness this really is an obsession!  I saw some fabric on Thursday that I really liked for my sister’s quilt but wanted to look online to see if I could get it in the US for cheaper.  The sites I checked didn’t have it and I didn’t want to miss my opportunity so I went back for it.  

Quilt Material

The white polka dot is for the backing

  

What do you think?  I loved the butterflies!  I felt it was innocent but something a teenager would like.  

I also came home to a box from my mom (in the States),   

YAY!!!!  It felt like christmas!  And of course there was some quilting stuff!  There were 2 jelly rolls and 2 books I ordered online.  These books retailed for $45 in my local quilt store and Amazon was selling them for $15!  

The 200 Quilting Tips book is a great reference guide.  It reinforced all the techniques I learned during my patchwork course and even discussed other paper piecing, applique and embroidery techniques.  I will keep this book close as I start working on my next quilts.  The Layer Cake, Jelly Roll, and Charm Quilts appealed to me because color coordinating makes me nervous!  I like that the precut fabrics are already color coordinated but flipping through this book I also realized it lacks originality.  That said, I will likely use a combination of both layer cakes/jelly rolls and self selected fabrics.  

Written by Kyishia

September 25, 2010 at 1:02 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

