primaNOTION

Just another WordPress.com site

Slowly But Surely

leave a comment »

I have not allowed myself to cut any of my new fabrics until I finished my first quilt (trying to have some discipline!).  I am starting to see how/why people have so many WIPs and put off the backing.  I was far more excited about creating the quilt top squares than piecing the back.  BUT, I think it came together nicely!  I figured I wouldn’t have enough fabric for the back of the quilt – things rarely turn out that perfect.  I’m not sure if it is a faux pas to use binding fabric on the back, but I did!!  We’ll see how it all comes together but I had more than enough binding fabric and was determined to use what I had versus purchasing more fabric.

pieced back

close up on pattern

I have now put together my quilt layers minus the safety pins (since I completely forgot to stop by the store for some today).  I’m excited to have it done and off my floor so I can vacuum move on to the next quilt!  I am nervous about the actual quilting and believe I will use tape as guidelines and quilt diagonal lines, like a large plaid pattern.  Fingers crossed that I have allowed myself enough backing and batting!

Written by Kyishia

September 27, 2010 at 11:50 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

