primaNOTION

Just another WordPress.com site

Pinwheel Quilt Along (My Day 1)

with one comment

This was alot of cutting!

I have been lazy in a bit of a funk the past few days where I seem to prefer laying on the couch reading quilting blogs rather than actually quilting myself!  After reading numerous blogs, researching patterns, and reading my new quilting book I am sufficently satisfied with the pattern I selected (pinwheel quilt). 

I am working with a Moda layer cake, so I cut each square into 5″ squares (which took longer than I thought).  I am really working on precision because I have discovered (by trial and error, of course) that this can make or break a triangle.

Once my fabric was cut I matched contrasting colors and then pin two squares of each contrasting colors together (face forward).  I refuse to stock up on notions until I prove to myself I am going to stick to this hobby of quilting so once I ran out of pins I moved on to the next step with the squares I had ready.  Drawing a diagonal line through the middle and sewing 1/4″ seams on either side (this will yield two triangles sewn together (genius)!

showing off some of the colors in the pure line

still can't sew a straight line!

At this point I have only sewn and cut 1/3 of the squares into triangles.  I hope to finish the rest of the triangles by the weekend.  Here is a sneak peak of some of my color combos.

Written by Kyishia

September 30, 2010 at 6:26 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] I’m ashamed to tell you how long I have been working on this quilt but the first post was here (smh).  At any rate, it is finished now (for the most […]


Leave a Reply

