primaNOTION

Just another WordPress.com site

First Time’s a Charm!

with 3 comments

My first quilt was a sampler which means I had the opportunity to make a variety of squares each week that ultimately yielded a quilt.  The quilt along is a different experience because I am created numerous of the same (pinwheel) squares to be used in the quilt.  Granted they are a variety of colors and I am excited about the outcome; however it does get dull doing the same square over and over!  I may actually cut into another fabric/jelly roll to add some variety back into my quilting.  I’m also thinking ahead to the 14+ hour flight I have to Istanbul next Saturday.  I think a hexagon project would be great for the plane!

Tonight I spent a bit of time sewing another 1/3 of the squares, cutting them into triangles and IRONING!  The biggest lesson learned from my first quilt was the importance of ironing squares/pieces before piecing them together.  It is nearly impossible to get seams to meet if they have not been ironed!  I skipped ahead a few steps and put together a whole square.  At least now I have something to look forward to.

I’m certain they won’t all look like this one but if 75% do then I will be pleased!  I’m shocked the corners match so perfectly on my first shot!

Written by Kyishia

October 1, 2010 at 2:05 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with ,

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. That square looks awesome! I’m sure the whole quilt will come out great.

    Kaleena

    October 2, 2010 at 11:29 pm

  2. I have to say you did a fabulous job with your first square. I’m lovign the colors for this quilt. Definitely feeling the “Pure…” quotes on the one fabric! Good choice. I’m excited to see how this one will turn out.

    Yokley

    October 4, 2010 at 6:39 am


Leave a Reply

