primaNOTION

Just another WordPress.com site

Giraffes and Elephants, oh my!

with 2 comments

My house guests are gone and I’m finally getting back into a routine, which means back in the lab and cooking up new quilts!  I have been thinking about this fabric for a while, the quilt will be for one of my long time friends (Keisha) and her baby Braelyn.  It was a challenge to find a pattern that would properly show off the giraffes.  But I was inspired by this and started cutting. 

I must have gotten carried away because I think this amount of fabric will actually make TWO baby quilts!

Here’s the progress I made on day one.  I usually get addicted once I see progress so I actually started this quilt on January 7 and finished the top completely on January 9.

As of now it measures 54″ x 58.5″.  I need to do better at determining my measurements up front and working towards that versus stopping when i get tired.  This is the largest baby quilt I have made to date, I thought it was only fair since this baby is already here and nearly fully grown ;-).

And here’s a close up.  What do you think?  I really liked the pattern.  I was determined to finish this one fast because it had to spend alot of time on the floor while I plotted out the design and I could only sew small areas at a time.  I had to keep putting the completed sections back down so that I didnt’ get confused and put the whole thing together wrong.  It was quite the puzzle! 

I’m debating adding more white as a larger border, what do yall think?

I plan to go by the quilt store this week to pick out the back of the quilt (which I’m going to piece to switch it up a bit) and the binding (there may be more polka dots in store!).  I’ll post more pictures of the finished quilt.  I hope you love it Keisha!

Written by Kyishia

January 9, 2011 at 12:00 am

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Oh I LOVE this design. The colors go together quite nicely and the patterns compliment each other. Great job Kyish. I do agree that you should add more white for a larger border. Can’t wait to see the completed project.

    Katrice

    January 9, 2011 at 4:38 pm

    • So Trice you are telling me that you like all that pink & green ;-). I’m going to follow your advice and add some more white around the borders. I think it will make the binding pop as well. I should have this one finished as soon as my backing/binding arrive from the US!

      Kyishia

      January 12, 2011 at 4:31 am


Leave a Reply

