primaNOTION

Just another WordPress.com site

Red and White log cabins

with 2 comments

I have been terrible about checking the mail these days but I did have a surprise waiting for me today when I finally went!  Fabric arrived for the February blocks in the Ravishing in Red bee.

The envelope felt kind of light but once I actually read the instructions I understood.  We were asked to make two blocks no bigger than 7″.  The center piece would be a small piece of red fabric surrounded by only white in a log cabin style.   She asked that the blocks not be wonky but did not want the red piece exactly center.  Here’s what I came up with.

I made three blocks instead of two because I had enough fabric and they were really easy.  I enjoyed not having to measure my strips and going with the flow.  I did square up the blocks but that was the only use of the ruler this time!

I’m a bit nervous for this bee since my month is the last month and there hasn’t been much banter on flickr and we are two members short.  It seems people are sticking with it out of obligation but it’s not as enjoyable.  Thankfully we are at the start of the Bee in Oz bee and everyone is still eager and excited.

Written by Kyishia

February 13, 2011 at 8:40 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi Kyishia, I’ve been getting your primnotion photos of the work in progress and I see you are doing a swap. I know of a website that I think you may be interested in. This guy (yes, guy) does fabulous work and has a lot of very interesting stuff going on, not only on his website, blog, and etsy but he has a shop as well. check him out. I’m sure you’ll find the site very interesting and fun to browse.

    http://www.ryanwalshquilts.com/

    Laurin Beers
    (your mom’s quilting neighbor).

    Laurin Beers

    February 13, 2011 at 1:37 pm

    • Hi Laurin,
      You are right I’m in a virtual bee so I receive fabric each month and have to make a block based on the owner’s instructions. I already have my month planned and can’t wait! I have been to ryanwalsh’s blog in the past but for some reason I don’t check his as regularly as I do some others, I’ll have to take another look now!

      Kyishia

      Kyishia

      February 25, 2011 at 11:47 pm


Leave a Reply

