primaNOTION

Just another WordPress.com site

Wonky Stars

with one comment

March fabrics for Bee in Oz quilting bee arrived this week!!  Our fabrics for February never arrived, there appears to have been an issue with the mail leaving India which is disheartening for the owner since she sent fabric for two bees (22 people!) at once and none of it has arrived to its destination!  I would be STRESSED!   At any rate I’m excited that the March queen bee was organized and ready to get her fabrics out early.

We were asked to make wonky stars and provided this tutorial but the competitive side of me doesn’t want my block to look EXACTLY like everyone else’s so I searched on flickr for some inspiration.  I wasn’t trying to do TOO much since this is technically my first wonky star :-x.

The directions were hard for me to visualize, and I’m recovering from bronchitis (therefore on drugs) so there was quite a bit of unpicking and resewing involved.  I really shouldn’t sew sick, but this was seriously a highlight this week!

Once I got the hang of it, the star came together quickly.  Participating in a bee is always nice because you get to work with fabric you may/may not have selected on your own.  In this case I REALLY like the star background and am now considering a planet/star themed quilt for Reggie’s son!

The back of this block was even interesting (and organized).  I don’t typically share the back of anything because it reveals the chaos that happens and is not meant to be seen ;-).  This one wasn’t that bad.

But I couldn’t stop here.  I was having too much fun.  I got another idea and had more fabric so I kept sewing.

These little guys are 4-5 inches.  I need to do better with measuring before I package things up for shipping!  I have received some good feedback 0n flickr from the owner so she seems pleased.

Here they are all together!

Written by Kyishia

February 25, 2011 at 11:44 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] stars are all over flickr, I recently made a wonky star for one of my bee members.  I really like this […]


Leave a Reply

