primaNOTION

Just another WordPress.com site

Star Block for a Cause

with 2 comments

I may not sew daily but not a day goes by that I don’t think about quilting.  This typically takes form via reading some of my fav quilt blogs, looking for ideas on flickr or working on my Etsy shop (which is coming along).  Today I was catching up on ps i quilt‘s blog and she is supporting Moda’s challenge to make 100 quilts in 100 days for soldiers.  That requires 1800 blocks!!!  What a daunting task!  BUT with the support of fellow quilters making one block each this becomes a very obtainable goal.  I have two daddies and both of them served in the army.  They both continue to serve as contractors to the military and one of my fathers is currently in Afghanistan so I completely relate to this challenge.

I started on my block tonight and if it weren’t for my sewing needle breaking I would have finished!  If you are interested the fabric requirements, block tutorial and mailing address are here.  I used some scraps left over from my latest project.  This block will measure 10″ finished.  I am starting to build a nice stash, I even managed to find a bit of red fabric (see top pic) to do a second star.  Don’t worry I purposefully did not trim up this block per Moda’s request ;-).

These stars are all over flickr, I recently made a wonky star for one of my bee members.  I really like this block!!

I’m proud to be a part of this challenge and plan to look more opportunities to get involved with one of the many charity quilt initiatives on the web.

Written by Kyishia

March 18, 2011 at 6:58 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. These came out well. What is the significance of the writing on them?

    Kaleena

    March 19, 2011 at 12:13 am

  2. […] wonderful surprise in the mail this week!  This tiny little charm pack arrived as a thank you for these squares.  I had to look on a few sites to find the official name for them…mini charm squares.  Look […]


Leave a Reply

