primaNOTION

Just another WordPress.com site

The Journey

leave a comment »

I have been sewing like a madwoman this week!  The other day when the new fabric arrived I also got the back and binding fabric for this quilt.  I initially planned to use the orange fabric for the back and the patterned fabric for the binding.  I like polka dots and stripes for binding but I am not that confident in my meandering to use a solid on the back just yet (not very forgiving of mistakes!). 

I pieced the back to include a few of the squares used on the front.  I had way too many left over and thought this would give the back a bit of character.  Wednesday I started piecing the fabric for the back.  This took WAY longer than it should have because for some reason I thought this was a twin size quilt (exaggerating) and I was piecing and sewing more than I actually needed.  I also finished piecing the batting (see here) and basted the quilt.  I only managed to get all this done because I had house guests who wanted to cook for us as a thank you for our hospitality.  I was grateful for the break from the kitchen and the extra time to progress this quilt!

I started quilting on Thursday but thanks to a cranky neighbor (and living without central air/heat and relying on open windows) my boyfriend has implemented a sewing curfew :-(.  I finished the quilting on Thursday evening and sewed on the binding.

I have new binding clips that really made the process of hand sewing the back so much easier!  I like the orange binding, I think it really brings together the front and the back of the quilt.  I quilted an all over meandering pattern. 

Between Thursday and Saturday I finished sewing on the binding while on the couch watching tv.  I’ve come across a tutorial for sewing the binding to the front and the back of the quilt…need to give that some thought.  It’s a time saver but not the popular way of sewing binding.

I LOVE the squares on the back, I think they give the back just as much character as the front of the quilt.  I’m going to have a hard time letting this one go!  It’s now on sale in my Etsy Shop.

Written by Kyishia

March 28, 2011 at 12:45 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

