primaNOTION

Just another WordPress.com site

Broken Needles

with 5 comments

Hectic work week = no sewing!  That said, I woke up super early (8am) on Saturday feeling restless and needed to sew.  I completed TWO quilt tops!!  Over the weekend I continued to work on this one which is a custom order quilt for my friend Katrice.  This was one of three sewing projects on my table that I have been wanting to finish so I can move on to another quilt for the etsy shop. 

This little number gave me a run for my money!  I broke three sewing needles trying to finish the quilting.  I’m not sure what the issue was, my sewing machine may have felt over worked or the free needles sent with my fabric order were cheap and couldn’t take the pressure.  Either way I was frustrated.  There is still a patch in the middle that needs to be quilted but I moved on and attached the label and binding and spent a few hours on the couch hand sewing.  When my new (stronger) needles arrive I’ll put the finishing touches on and get this in the mail.  Of course I’ll post pictures of the finished quilt (including some close ups)!  I tried a pieced binding and did something different with the backing so I’ll try to catch some natural light during the next photo shoot so you can see the details better.

Written by Kyishia

April 10, 2011 at 10:45 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I really like this pattern, may be a good one for my sister’s quilt. Let me know how much fabric this takes. I’m going to start looking for prints soon.

    Kaleena

    April 11, 2011 at 12:46 am

  2. Soooooo cuuuutteee! Sorry about your needles though 😦

    Katrice

    April 13, 2011 at 1:40 pm

    • I’m so glad you like it! Its finally coming together, I really like this stage in the quilting process (when I can see the light at the end of the tunnel)!
      Sent from my BlackBerry® from Optus

      Kyishia

      April 13, 2011 at 5:25 pm

  3. […] undoubtedly cut it all at once and have 4-5 new projects to clutter this space.  Today I finished this quilt and wanted to share some final pictures.  This quilt is different because it is the first one […]

  4. […] needle broke and she kept stitching before she realized it.  This all happened while working on this quilt for a friend so I wanted to be sure my needle issues weren’t impacting the quality of my […]

    Needles « primaNOTION

    April 19, 2011 at 1:23 pm


Leave a Reply

