primaNOTION

Just another WordPress.com site

Bee in Oz April

leave a comment »

Usually when I get fabric in the mail from one of my quilting bees I go directly to the sewing table and knock it out.  Well I have been slammed at work AND this month’s Bee in Oz block was a bit daunting for me.  Once I got the nerve to cut the fabric I must have started and stopped on four different occasions before sitting down and finishing this block!   The pattern was the Mod Mosaic provided by Oh Fransson.  It looked alot easier in the picture.  I think the abstract piecing, not cutting specific sized shapes and having to go with the flow took me out of my comfort zone.

As you can see in the picture, it doesn’t look visually appealing as it is coming together!  This is meant to be a scrap buster but since we were sent nice bundles of fabric, I had to cut and piece randomly and then cut straight edges to continue to sew together the block until it was at least 12″ and could be squared up.

Mine looks a bit darker than some of the others in the group.  I have no idea why this is the case since my black strips are the correct size (1″ per the directions).

April also asked for a siggy block.  Thankfully she only wanted a 3×3″ square so I could pull that off.   By the time this was said and done I was mentally exhausted and ready to send the blocks and extra fabric back to

their rightful owner!

Written by Kyishia

April 20, 2011 at 9:42 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

