primaNOTION

Just another WordPress.com site

First Quilt Guild

with one comment

I have been wanting to connect with some Sydney quilters via the New South Wales quilt guild for some time.  I follow a few US blogs and I honestly feel a bit jealous when there are posts about the meetups, sewing days, show and tell, etc.  I finally got up the nerve to attend my local guild on Saturday.  I got up early and headed out to Burwood which was an hour away on public transport.  The day started with a demonstration on hexagons.  I really like hexagon quilts and even have on in progress.  I learned alot during the demonstration so it was well worth getting up early.  We had a break for lunch and I honestly felt like it was the first day at a new school where people already had their groups and their tables selected.  I spent 1/2 my lunch time chatting with Reggie on the phone, Kaleena on the bbm (and I did sneak off to play a few rounds on the slot machine). 

Back upstairs, in the main meeting room I sat down and with a group of lovely ladies and we chatted for the remainder of the lunch break.  During this meeting I never really felt comfortable!  It came as no surprise that I was the only black woman but I was also the youngest (by about 20-25 years!).  The guest speaker even acknowledged that they needed to do more to attract younger quilters.

The day lasted from 11-3:30 and I was in desperate need of a nap by the time I left!  An hour of the general meeting ran just like a sorority meeting with reports from each of the officers and major committees.

The general meeting was followed by show and tell!  And there were really some GORGEOUS quilts on display!  It blows my mind that all these quilts were made with hexagons! 

The jury is still out on whether I will come to another guild meeting.  I did learn that there is a group called the Night Owls that meet once a month down the street from my house!  I will surely be looking into attending a meeting with this group but I was really hoping to make some quilting friends in real life that were a bit closer to my age group :-(.

Written by Kyishia

May 25, 2011 at 10:00 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] life” quilting friends.  I started this journey a few weeks ago when I attended a NSW Guild meeting…I wasn’t impressed….Surprisingly one of the Bee in Oz participants (flickr […]


Leave a Reply

