primaNOTION

Just another WordPress.com site

Finished Constellation

with one comment

I lost my motivation and have been fighting my way back into the sewing machine.  It seems I have more special requests for quilts than ever and I am behind on the gifts I intended to give.  Since I will be back in the US from June 30 (just for a holiday) I really need to have at least two of my gifts ready to take home with me (we’ll see how that goes).

I finished the Constellation quilt over the weekend.  For once I planned ahead and finished the sewing the binding while waiting on the backing fabric

to arrive from the US.  I pieced my batting and set everything aside and my package arrived the next day!  I’m sure my neighbor downstairs loved my late night sewing, but she is a complainer and a girl has the right to sew right?!?

The back was the red abc fabric from the lollipop fabric line (also used on the front).  This quilt was made from 2 charm packs and approximately 2 yards of solid fabric.

I pieced the back of the quilt, using stacked coins of the leftover charm squares from the front.  I had enough fabric for the back but I am starting to prefer a pieced back!

It also gives me a great place to put my label!

And I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE the red binding!  I think it really pops against the turquoise.  I don’t sew alot with red but my involvement in the Ravishing in Red bee has made me look at the color in a new light. 

This quilt was a custom order for a coworker and I will deliver it to her tomorrow, fingers crossed she likes it!

Written by Kyishia

May 31, 2011 at 10:00 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] And yes that is black binding!  I’m excited about how it is going to make one of my secret quilts pop!  I am envisioning a very similar effect as the red binding on the Constellation quilt. […]


Leave a Reply

