primaNOTION

Just another WordPress.com site

Disappointed

with one comment

I have been doing limited sewing; however I am trying to get my dining room sewing area in order.  I have also been following up on my blocks due from my two online quilting bees.  My month for bee in oz was May and I am still waiting on two blocks!  But even worse, my month for ravishing in red was june and I have only received blocks from four of nine participants!  Two have finally responded to my email saying life has gotten in the way and they won’t be able to complete my blocks so they will return the fabric.  All I’m getting from the others is radio silence.  So now let vent for a minute and get this off my chest.  The ravishing in red bee was international with most participants residing in the US.  It costs me approx $3-$4 to ship fabric to each participant.  There has been limited communication on our flickr page for months and I knew this bee was falling apart.  There were a number of resignations (which is how I even managed to get a spot); however I gave the remaining bee members the benefit of the doubt ans assumed they would follow through to the end of this bee (which also happened to be my month!).  Even if I were unable to finish a block for someone I would communicate, communicate, communicate!  I know that life gets in the way and sometimes things change and you are unable to meet all your obligations, fair enough.  But with the price of fabric in Australia and what I paid in shipping I would have much rather known up front!

At any rate, I have received some blocks and I am still excited about what the finished product will look like.  I allowed flexibility regarding block size and I think that is going to present a challenge for me to fill the gaps but will also add character to the quilt.   I also requested signature blocks so I could remember those who contributed to this quilt (especially since it’s my first quilt from participating in quilting bees).  I need to put some thought into how I’m going to incorporate these blocks on the back of the quilt but I am thrilled to have them!

I don’t want to paint the wrong picture, I am thoroughly enjoying my quilting bees and have recently joined another Aussie bee.  I think going forward I will limit my participation to those with members in Australia and I will try not to sign up for the last month in the bee (just in case!).  I am already getting to know those active in the online quilting world locally so it also never hurts to know the people you are sewing with and their credibility.

Written by Kyishia

August 13, 2011 at 5:17 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. oh that is so unfair! I can understand why you are disappointed 😦

    Pinkying

    August 14, 2011 at 6:14 pm


Leave a Reply

