primaNOTION

Just another WordPress.com site

August Bee Blocks

with 2 comments

Monday night Claire and I met up again for quilt talk and a sewing session.  Oh how I’m starting to love these!  I have grown accustomed to quilting in my own little zone (literally ignoring Reggie) and focusing on the task at hand.  It is so much more fun to sew when someone else is being crafty as well (not to mention challenge you on your creations!).  I must admit that Claire got to see my clumsy side and I literally thought I was going to tear her house down…not sure what got into me!

I managed to finish one of my bee blocks, this square in a square block.  The August queen bee requested two blocks.  I wouldn’t ordinarily have an issue with doing two blocks but these were two 12″ blocks that were complicated to piece!  I’m surprised no one has said anything about this!  At any rate, I will put on my friendly face and keep sewing.  Sewing is therapeutic, I think I’m just a bit stressed to have so many bee blocks to catch up on!  I definitely don’t want to be THAT person who turns in blocks late!

Wednesday my sewing machine blues got the best of me.  I worked late on Tuesday so I could slip away for a few hours on Wednesday morning AND BUY A NEW MACHINE!  I have been looking online and calling around to various sewing shops discussing my needs (a great machine at a low cost).  I found out a few weeks ago that Janome was having a sale and I could get a really good machine with two of the quilting feet for free (SIGN ME UP!). 

The Chatswood Sewing Centre was so helpful!  I received a tutorial and was able to sew on the machine before purchasing….PLUS I got a free pair of sewing scissors and a half price discount to come back for Get to Know your Machine classes!  Of course I went directly home and instead of just setting it up and going back to work of course I got addicted and I will now be climbing from underneath my work to do list through the end of the week!  It’s ok, it was worth it!

During my sewing frenzy I finished the second block for the August Sew Australia bee, this dresden plate.  I really like dresden plates (especially when I don’t have to hand sew them to the background fabric!).  I used the zig zag stitch for the first time as well (to sew the center circle in place).  This is exactly what I like about quilting bees….the opportunity to try new stuff!

So now that I am officially back in business I will be blogging more often!  See you soon!

 

Written by Kyishia

August 17, 2011 at 9:17 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. ha ha! First of all I would like tod say that you did NOT tear up my house!! 🙂 but more importantly: YAY!!!! for your new machine! So excited for you 🙂

    Pinkying

    August 21, 2011 at 10:51 am

    • Thanks Claire! This does not mean I’m giving up our sewing sessions though!

      Kyishia

      August 21, 2011 at 9:21 pm


Leave a Reply

