primaNOTION

Just another WordPress.com site

Ode to Friendship

with 10 comments

Who is excited?  I AM!!!????!!!  It’s January 12 and I started a quilt for someone who I consider one of my BEST friends.    She is the only person I talk to DAILY (and if you know anything about me you know I do not talk on the phone or do daily).  We have been through alot together and the level of understanding between us is too strong for words.  That said, I AM THRILLED to be working on her quilt!  She has sworn me to secrecy so I have not been able to blog about this quilt until she receives it :-(.  By the time it’s complete I would have forgotten my excitement through the progress so I’m going to capture that here and just wait to post until the quilt is finished and back in the US.  I’m working with this yummy fabric and about as many solid fabrics. 

After debating between a zig zag quilt and the bento box,  I decided on the bento box…and boy am I glad!  Using this tutorial, I jumped right in.  After Day 1 I finished 5 boxes and I think this quilt is going to do an AMAZING job of showing off the fabric. 

Day 2- Jan 13

 
So NINE MONTHS LATER…I have finally finished this quilt AND I have been given permission to blog about it!!  The quilt top was finished in June but then my machine broke and I was waiting on the back fabric to arrive.  It took two times to get the backing right, the first fabric I ordered wasn’t big enough and wasn’t the exact color I was envisioning (so this is now in my stash). 

This is a queen size quilt and I did the quilting myself!!  I used my favorite technique of  stipling (meandering) which some say is crazy given the size of the quilt.  It took me a total of two days to finish the quilting.

Saturday I attended another quilting meeting with my friend Claire and spent the whole meeting trying to finish the binding.  I am really pleased with how the black turned out, it really frames the quilt. 

I’m really proud of how this quilt has turned out!  So proud I was even talked into showing it during show and tell at this Saturday’s quilting meeting.  These women have been quilting for ages and I was a bit nervous but several come over to me afterwards to take a second look and ask about the pattern! 

I sent Kaleena pictures but there is nothing like seeing the quilts in person.  This will be the first quilt to get one of my new labels (as soon as they arrive!!).

This is also the first time I have taken pictures of a quilt outside, boy what a difference the natural light makes!

Written by Kyishia

September 4, 2011 at 10:00 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Love it!! Good job!

    CreolePeach

    September 4, 2011 at 11:33 pm

    • Thank you!! I’m so proud of this one!! I got bored a few times because baby quilts are instant gratification but I’m glad I stuck with it!

      Kyishia

      September 5, 2011 at 9:54 pm

  2. Can’t wait to wrap myself in it!!!!

    Kaleena

    September 5, 2011 at 12:49 am

    • I can’t wait for you to have it! I’m so glad I got it done and I’m so thankful for your friendship…just a token of my appreciation.

      Kyishia

      September 5, 2011 at 9:53 pm

  3. YAY!!! so glad you got the binding done!! 🙂 It’s GORGEOUS!! 🙂

    Pinkying

    September 5, 2011 at 9:12 am

    • Thanks Claire! I’m glad you talked me into sharing with the group too 😉

      Kyishia

      September 5, 2011 at 9:55 pm

  4. Very pretty quilt!!!

    Heavenly Carmon

    September 6, 2011 at 11:19 pm

  5. […] owner is going to turn this into a bento box quilt, I’ve done one of these! We were also asked to do a signature block, so here are my two blocks together. These blocks […]

  6. […] have also mailed this quilt and this quilt and they have been received!  Both were very happy to receive them- my mom […]


Leave a Reply

