primaNOTION

Just another WordPress.com site

Pink Positive

with 5 comments

Have I told yall about my line sisters?  For those who don’t know I am in a sorority (which is near and dear to my heart) and the 30 lovely ladies who pledged at A&T in the same year as me are considered my line sisters.  Thirty is alot of women and while that is easily a recipe for drama I can honestly say I met some of  my best/closest friends because of the sorority. 

 

 

We have a tradition where we all contribute some pink or green fabric (our sorority colors) for a quilt to be made whenever anyone has their first baby.  The person who typically makes the quilts recently had her own baby girl so I have stepped in to make 3 quilts for three new mommies. 

After making this block, I decided this would be perfect for the variety of fabrics (shades, prints, etc) that I received.  I would never attempt this on a bed size quilt because each of these squares takes SO MUCH TIME!  And have I mentioned how much I dislike 2″ squares!!  But it’s for a good cause so I’m going to push through.

I started this project last weekend and spent several hours just cutting fabric.  This weekend I finally sat down at the machine in hopes of seeing the fruits of my labor!  Here are 7 blocks that I finished over two sewing sessions (I said it was time consuming!).  These blocks are 8″ to give you a bit of perspective.  The good news is this quilt will only require 36 total blocks (at least I’m trying to convince myself that is good news!). 

My friend Claire is coming over for a bit of sewing tomorrow night (and girl talk) so I hope to make even more progress then.

So pink positive, what do yall think of that quilt name?  I know now all the +’s in the quilt are green but you get the idea, right?  I’m not the most creative so I typically steer clear of quilt naming!

Written by Kyishia

September 12, 2011 at 10:00 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. OMG!! So pretty!!! I see my fabric!! I been waiting for this blog for a while! lol!! That looks like a lot of work, I need to get myself a hobby other than reading! lol!

    Heavenly Carmon

    September 12, 2011 at 10:43 pm

    • Thanks Heavenly! I had a feeling you may have been waiting for me to get started ;-). Hopefully I’ll have this finished in the next two weeks and I can post again with the finished product. I need to start thinking about the other two and what they will look like!!

      Kyishia

      September 13, 2011 at 6:51 am

  2. I see my fabric too! LOL

    Kaleena

    September 14, 2011 at 8:48 am

  3. […] I last posted about this quilt, I made a few additional blocks so I laid them all out to see how many more were […]

  4. […] finished the pink positive quilt but I have mixed feelings about it.  For the background go here and here.  I think the fabric was perfect for this pattern and I really enjoyed making […]


Leave a Reply

