primaNOTION

Just another WordPress.com site

Pink Positive – All Done

with 4 comments

This weekend I had no intention of sewing.  Sad huh?  I have had so much on my plate for work and getting my US and AU taxes finalized that I knew this would be a working weekend.  BUT it rained all weekend and Saturday I spent most of the day working.  Sunday I was supposed to go to a wine festival but the weather did not cooperate and it rained all day so this left me with a bit of time to play with.  Plus, there’s nothing like a lazy Sunday in front of the sewing machine!

Since I last posted about this quilt, I made a few additional blocks so I laid them all out to see how many more were required to finish this quilt.  When I started this quilt I didn’t realize how much time these blocks would take to make!

If the weather was better I would have taken this one outside for some higher quality pictures.  It’s hard to see the different green fabrics due to the distance but (lucky for me) it’s hard to see my goofs as well.  I spent more time than usual laying out these blocks to ensure that no two of the same fabrics were beside each other.  This was fine until I started sewing and somehow was moving the fabrics around.  So the final quilt top has a few spots where there are two of the same fabrics side by side (oops).  It’s a good thing I”m not a perfectionist when it comes to quilting and I am also a firm believer that you are your biggest critic.  Overall I really like how this one turned out.  I have the binding and the fabric for the back but I am going to put this one aside for a bit and research the pattern for the next quilt.  I have decided that the next two will not have patterns as complicated as this one.  I think it’s only fair that this quilt go to my line sister who was previously making quilts for everyone, she has put in alot of time and effort on other quilts and I think this will be a nice thank you.

I’ll post more pictures when I get this one finished.

Written by Kyishia

September 26, 2011 at 10:00 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Very beautiful quilt! And I think Dana and her lil one will LOVE this quilt!! How long did it take you to finish this?

    Heavenly Carmon

    September 26, 2011 at 10:51 pm

    • Thanks Heavenly! I’m not good at tracking the time I spend, but I worked on it sporadically from the first post and the about 4-5 hours on Sunday to finish. Much longer than usual to finish a baby quilt.

      Kyishia

      September 27, 2011 at 7:45 am

  2. […] the pink positive quilt but I have mixed feelings about it.  For the background go here and here.  I think the fabric was perfect for this pattern and I really enjoyed making […]

  3. […] have also mailed this quilt and this quilt and they have been received!  Both were very happy to receive them- my mom says the […]


Leave a Reply

