primaNOTION

Just another WordPress.com site

Sewing and Shopping

leave a comment »

Despite arriving back in Sydney at a RIDICULOUS hour from a business trip due to plane issues, I still managed to tear myself out of bed for an early start and a day of sewing with SCQuilters (and Claire).  I spent half of the time finishing the binding on this quilt. 

I also started cutting on a new quilt that I hope will come together quickly.  It’s an easy pattern from charm packs, for some strange reason I only bought ONE charm pack so I’m now waiting on more to arrive in the mail so I can make a decent size quilt…ugghhh so much for planning ahead!

Saturday evening I actually sewed together all of the rows based on one charm pack and I think with one more charm pack and a good border this one will be complete!  Fingers crossed I will receive the charm pack and be able to complete next weekend.  I really like this fabric!  I think it is brilliant for a little boy, it has such bold colors!

After SCQuilters, Claire was gracious enough to drive me to one of the local quilt stores that was having a BIG sale!  I was determined to stick to my budget because I’m currently attempting to organize my dining room “sewing” room and really don’t have the space for too much more fabric.

BUT, they were having such a big sale that I had to get SOME fabric. 

There really isn’t anything like fondling some new fabric (don’t judge me!).

I even managed to pick up some fabrics for a new boy quilt.  I discriminate against boy quilts…it’s not on purpose but the girly fabrics are so pretty and available in abundance.  It’s so hard to find fabric that is suitable for little boys!

I even bought a mini cutting board so I can spend more time at SCQuilters cutting fabric for upcoming projects instead of worrying about making sure I have a finished quilt so I can work on binding!

Hopefully I’ll be back next week with pictures of a newly finished quilt, it’s time to get into high gear!

 

Written by Kyishia

November 11, 2011 at 9:38 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

