primaNOTION

Just another WordPress.com site

Mad Dash

with 4 comments

I’m counting down the days until my long holiday back home in the States (literally), I have 12 days and I CAN NOT WAIT!  While I can see the light at the end of the tunnel there are about 101 things I need to get done in these last days!  As usual this list includes a number of quilts that I would like to give away as Christmas gifts (or long over due baby quilts).

I finished this quilt this weekend.  The extra charm square was in the mail when I arrived home on Friday so I woke up early on Saturday to cut and sew the remaining squares.

At first I was not a big fan of the pattern, I thought it was really simple looking and i also thought I goofed in ordering just one more charm pack (versus another two).  Thankfully I’m quick on my feet and had the great idea to add a border ;-).

Have I mentioned I’m not a fan of boy quilts, I’m sure I have!  As this one came together I fell in love with it!  So much so that I do not want to give it away!!

The colors are bold and contrast with the girly colors I typically sew with.  I considered using a cream/natural color for the border but I am so glad I stuck with the red!

The icing on the cake was finding a suitable binding from my stash.  It is a green batik fabric that my mom bought for me, at the time I had no clue what I would use it on but the color/pattern blended perfectly for this quilt.

The back is a khaki fabric, again I was on the fence with this fabric.  Isn’t it funny how the perfect combination of fabric in a quilt can have you swoonin’.

I may whip up one more of these quilts in my hometown fabric next weekend so I can cross one more off of my list!  There’s nothing wrong with being ambitious right?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Written by Kyishia

November 21, 2011 at 10:24 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I love your quilts Kyish!

    CreolePeach

    November 21, 2011 at 11:40 pm

  2. […] to receive them- my mom says the pictures do not do the quilts justice.  Reggie has delivered this quilt to its new home in person (another happy recipient).  Now I just have one more quilt to get […]

  3. […] me!), I made it my first priority.  She liked the Sophie fabric from this post and I knew using this pattern, I could complete this quilt pretty quickly.  Not to mention this pattern is one of my […]


Leave a Reply

