primaNOTION

Just another WordPress.com site

Hometown Quilt Shop

with one comment

Today I put a small dent in my Christmas shopping but on the way home I couldn’t resist stopping at the quilt shop close to my mom’s house.  The store was called Whistle Stop Quilt Shop and it was SO CUTE!!!  They offered tons of great classes, look at the Tuffet class (it’s really an ottoman!).  This alone had me wanting to move back home so I can get involved with this shop.  They had tons of Moda, precuts, patterns and notions.  Unfortunately I got there just 30 minutes before closing so I had to make it quick (and I somehow managed to do enough damage), but I will be back!

I’m very behind on making baby quilts, so I picked up this duck pattern and kit.  The ducks are appliqued and I have been wanting to challenge myself to learn applique, so now is the perfect time!  The yellow fabric is the backing (it didn’t come in the kit) and it’s FLANNEL!  I don’t typically work with flannel but it felt so soft and I know it will be perfect for a baby quilt.  I can’t wait to get home to my sewing machine to get started on this (although I am in no hurry to get back to Australia just yet!). 

I also picked up a few charm squares (LOVING THE US PRICES FOR FABRIC!!!) and backing fabric.  This is about as good as I can do with planning for quilts, I typically only pick out the quilt fabric and then have to go back to the store for binding and back fabric.  But the prices were 9.99 a yard for MODA FABRICS so I COULD NOT RESIST!  I typically have to pay $27-30AUD so this was a STEAL OF A DEAL! 

I loved the bright colors (and what’s not to love about some pink and green fabrics!!).  Little girl quilts are so much easier to shop for, there are just way more options! 

My mom is starting to ask about her quilt so I’m going to need to start shopping for black and white (with a spot of red) fabric.  Maybe I’ll find my local Atlanta quilt shop and make this the focus of that shopping trip.  I’m really hoping the Atlanta shops will blow my socks off!

I know I’m going to enjoy fondling this fabric as I find a home for it (in my already cramped sewing room!).

 

Written by Kyishia

December 16, 2011 at 6:00 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] quilt she has bought from me!), I made it my first priority.  She liked the Sophie fabric from this post and I knew using this pattern, I could complete this quilt pretty quickly.  Not to mention […]


Leave a Reply

