primaNOTION

Just another WordPress.com site

Happy Birthday Mom!!!

with 2 comments

My mom and I are pretty special, we both have milestone birthdays this year!  She turns 50 today WOOO HOO!!!  Of course I have organized for some goodies to arrive in NC where she is so she’ll have gifts on her special day but I have also been working like a mad woman on a quilt for her.

I hoped to finish the quilt before my friends left (that was somewhat ambitious) so they could take it back to the US and send it for cheap.  As I progressed I realized I needed some special supplies and more fabric.  I would rather take my time than feel rushed with this one so maybe I will finish before my best friend arrives in February…keep your fingers crossed. 

My mom asked for a black and white quilt, with a bit of red.  She also specified what quilt she wanted…the Underground Railroad….AND even went as far as buying me a book with the pattern…ha!  She knows what she wants…nothing wrong with that!

This is a sampler quilt and most of the blocks I have experienced with; howver there are a few that have given me a few challenges.  This may be another reason I wasn’t able to turn it around so quickly!

I REALLY like this log cabin, I’m inspired to do a full quilt with this block, I like how the colors contrast.

I think this is going to be a gorgeous quilt, the colors and pattern is coming together. 

I’m making decent progress huh?

The downfall to the colors is that I know Reggie is going to want this quilt!!  I guess i should go ahead and start buying fabric for his next.

I have an amazing Mom and I hope she has a wonderful 50TH BIRTHDAY!!  I hate I can’t be there to celebrate and enjoy the day with her but hopefully seeing her quilt come together will add another smile to her face.

I LOVE YOU MOM!

Written by Kyishia

January 9, 2012 at 8:17 am

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I love you! You touch my soul with your acts of kindness. Thank you.
    Also my Teavana tea pot got a hugh smiles too!

    Kathi

    January 9, 2012 at 10:23 am

  2. […] phase with all of these potential customers I am going to take the next few weeks to work on this quilt and to make some quilts to sell in my etsy store. Like this:LikeBe the first to like this […]


Leave a Reply

