primaNOTION

Just another WordPress.com site

My Best Customer

leave a comment »

I’ve enjoyed this month off of work!  I had a great time back home with my friends and family, hosted some of my friends in Sydney for New Years and still had time to do some sewing before getting back into the work grind.

One of my friends, Nicola asked that I make her a baby quilt for a work colleague who just had a little girl.  Since she is my BEST customer (this is the third quilt she has bought from me!), I made it my first priority.  She liked the Sophie fabric from this post and I knew using this pattern, I could complete this quilt pretty quickly.  Not to mention this pattern is one of my favorites these days!  You can find the tutorial here.  You can not beat the fact that you use the back of the charm square pack to make the template for the tumblers!  You can cut alot of the squares at the same time and they are really easy to sew.  I had the blocks all sewed together in a few hours.  No matter how I obsess over getting the colors balanced and the fabrics in the perfect position, I never managed to sew them together in that exact order.

The picture to the left is the basted quilt.  I don’t typically show pictures of this phase in the quilting because I am usually racing back to the sewing table to start quilting and forget to take the pictures!  The back is one of the fabrics from the Sophie line (used on the front of the quilt), I haven’t been piecing my backs lately, but I’m sure that will change! 

The binding is the Robin’s Egg Kona Solid, I thought I did good with coordinating the colors.  I didn’t choose pink because I thought there was so much pink in the fabrics used (and the backing).  This was all solidified for me when I got to the SCQuilter’s meeting on Saturday am and one of my friends was finishing a quilt with THE SAME FABRIC and she used a blue/aqua color for her binding.

Great minds think alike!  I’m always inspired by SCQuilters, here are some pictures of a quilts that were showed off during show and tell.

Written by Kyishia

January 17, 2012 at 1:00 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

