primaNOTION

Just another WordPress.com site

January Bee Blocks (Sew Aussie)

leave a comment »

It’s been awhile since I’ve posted about working on bee blocks. In November I was overwhelmed with work and overlooked a package for one of my bees. This was absolutely my fault that they didn’t get done before I left for the US. Typcially the owner is very understanding and grants you a bit more time, that wasn’t the case this time so I just sent the fabric back when I returned. I was shocked by how rude she was, to be honest this has left a very sour taste in my mouth regarding participating in the bees. It’s a shame how one bad apple can ruin the bunch! Well let’s not cry over spilled milk…

This month I received a few jelly roll strips (pieces of fabric 2.5″ x 44″) along with these appliqued butterflies. How cute are they!?! We were given freedom to use the butterflies and strips and come up with any sort of block we wanted. I really stressed over these blocks, it’s been so long since I’ve received fabric with free rein to come up with the design! I spent a few days trying to get ideas from the internet..I think the jelly roll strips made this a bit more challenging. I had to give up on my initial idea of using a design with half square triangles but I like how these turned out.

The second block is a bit smaller than 12.5″ because I ran out of fabric but hopefully the recipient likes them!

Written by Kyishia

January 30, 2012 at 6:31 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

