primaNOTION

Just another WordPress.com site

Fabric Delivery!

leave a comment »

It has been awhile since I’ve ordered fabric online, I have been surprisingly good.  I think I would have maintained this good streak if it wasn’t for purchasing the latest fatquarterly ezine.  One of my local quilting friends had a tutorial published in this issue so of course I had to buy it to show support!  Unfortunately for me there was a coupon for 20% off at fatquartershop (and on top of that they were having a sale on quilting thread!).

Recently one of my friends Hayden asked that I make a quilt for one of her friends who is having a baby in April.  When I saw this fabric (called Scoot) I thought it would be perfect!  See, this is how one purchase leads to more fabric purchases…I had to order some coordinating solids and of course some fabric for the back!  The plus side is this is a paying customer…the best kind ;-).

Here’s the fabric for my month in both of my bees, hopefully I’ll have enough blocks for a full quilt

at the end of March (or soon after)!  I am really starting to like batiks and am looking for ways to incorporate them more in my quilts.  I have selected a pattern but I can’t give away all my secrets this early!

Let me say that no package/shipment is complete without a bit of Kona Natural (latest fav) or Kona Snow.  I use so much of these solids in my baby quilts it would probably be worth it to buy a bolt!  I’m trying to step outside of my comfort zone which is the reason I’m using charcoal with the batiks in the picture to the right.

One of the best things to arrive in this package was my Robert Kaufman color card!  Typically I make a special trip to a fabric store here to match my prints that I buy online or I try to guesstimate which color I need based on looking at a computer screen (which means most of the time my fabrics are just a bit off).  This card has ALL of the kona solids show including a swab of the actual fabric…EXCITED!  I couldn’t wait to crack it open to find coordinating solids for the scoot charm packs I selected (see above).

Written by Kyishia

February 21, 2012 at 11:30 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

