primaNOTION

Just another WordPress.com site

Scoot, scoot, scoot

leave a comment »

I know I JUST showed yall my recent fabric delivery, but this weekend I finished a baby quilt using the Scoot fabric.  Boy fabric is starting to really grow on me, typically I have a bias towards little girl fabric or maybe I warmed to the helicopters in this line.

Since I was working with charm squares, I searched around the moda website and decided on this pattern.

I had a terrible migraine on Saturday which turned into a perfect excuse to stay home and spend quality between the couch and the sewing machine.  I’m actually patting myself on the back for not procrastinating with this one.  My friend Hayden put in a custom order for this quilt for her friend who is having a little boy in April.

I must admit when I ordered additional fabric (the coordinating solids) I did not think about the sashing!  Thank goodness I keep Kona Natural in my stash for situations like this!

I love when I can use fabrics from my stash.  I also managed to find the fabric for the binding from my stash.  I honestly need to do better with searching my stash before ordering additional fabric anyway.  My stash is taking over my dining room (which doubles as my sewing machine).

I really like the red binding on this, it is a nice contrast to the natural color fabric I used for the sashing.  By sunday evening I had finished this quilt and was sitting on the couch hand stitching the back of the binding while watching some Eddie Murphy movie (don’t get me started on that one!).  Requests for custom quilts are flying in!  It’s very exciting when people value your craft!  I’ve already started on another baby girl quilt for a friend from high school expecting his first in a few weeks!!  Pictures of that one to come soon!

Written by Kyishia

February 27, 2012 at 10:03 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

