primaNOTION

Just another WordPress.com site

Sherbert: A Baby Quilt

with 7 comments

Despite the lack of blogging I have been doing a fair bit of sewing (not just obsessing over pinterest!). 

Remember this fabric?  I bought it while home in the US, it’s called Twirl and I LOVE IT!  A friend from high school is about to become a daddy for the first time and asked that I make a quilt for his daughter.  The baby is due mid March so I needed to get on the ball…and quickly!

Lately I’ve been getting my inspiration for baby quilts (using charm packs) from moda’s bake shop.  This quilt was no different.  Usually my baby quilts have very easy patterns so I can get them done quickly, but for some reason this pattern jumped out at me and since this is for an old friend I decided to spend the extra time.  Looking back at the contrast between the fabrics I have used and those used in the pattern, the fabric gives the pattern personality. 

I was asked to use pink and green in this quilt, I’m assuming that these are the colors of the baby’s room (but you know they are some of my fav colors to sew with!).  Instead of my usual white for the background I found some pink that coordinated beautifully in my stash.  I think it is adding to the sassiness of this quilt. 

This quilt is rating high up there in terms of favorites that I have made, I really like the pattern and this fabric line is just so vibrant!

The quilt top was a bit smaller than I wanted so I went ahead and added the border as suggested in the tutorial.  I don’t typically add borders to my quilts unless I’m in this situation.  No rhyme or reason for this other than I like most of my quilts without the border, makes the binding more important and gives it a chance to pop against the quilt top.  That’s ok, I just needed to find something bold to use as the border.  I am THRILLED I could pull the border, binding and backing from my STASH!!

It is such a good feeling to use the fabric you have on hand, feels like all that fabric shopping is not in vain.  Since I now have fabric busting out of my storage containers and completely taking over my dining room, I really need to get a handle on it and make sure I use something from my stash on every quilt (within reason).

The back of this one is pieced, I was just short of the green fabric but really like the strip of pink fabric.  I used the same pink for the binding as well.

This quilt is finished and in the mail, fingers crossed it arrives in time for the big day. 

I have had a number of requests from people who want custom quilts, 5 to be exact!  I’m thrilled that people value my craft!  Since I’m in the planning phase with all of these potential customers I am going to take the next few weeks to work on this quilt and to make some quilts to sell in my etsy store.

Written by Kyishia

March 14, 2012 at 9:45 am

Posted in Uncategorized

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I love this fabric! That twirl print is so cute. I like the borders too. I think you should do more with borders. I think they add an element of fun that make the quilt pop. Especially when you use a bold fabric choice like the blue in this one. This quilt is great!

    Kaleena

    March 14, 2012 at 12:19 pm

    • They say modern quilts don’t have borders and I want to do modern quilting but I think you are right, the borders do add a bit of a pop to the quilt. I was nervous about how this would turn out because the blue is VERY bold, but I had it in stash and wanted to take a gamble! I’m glad you liked it! I am inspired to see where else I can incorporate a few more borders!

      Kyishia

      March 14, 2012 at 4:30 pm

  2. Me too! Love the quilt! I am a bright colors kind of gal! So this is right up my alley! It’s crazy that you only been doing this for such a short time! Your work looks so professional!

    Heavenly Carmon

    March 15, 2012 at 1:38 am

    • Thank you Heavenly!! I really appreciate it. It does feel like only yesterday that I learned to sew but I can definitely tell the difference between my earlier quilts and what I am pulling off these days, from design, color coordination.

      Kyishia Sent from my iPad

      Kyishia

      March 15, 2012 at 8:42 am

  3. Another thing….I am interesting in seeing how much of a stock pile you have. I know you probably wouldn’t want to blog about how much material you have accumulated over your time quilting, but it would be interesting seeing.

    Heavenly Carmon

    March 15, 2012 at 1:42 am

    • HAHA, well I have accumulated far more fabric that I would probably let myself admit but I am more than happy to share some pictures. I just went to the store last weekend for more storage tubs to get my sewing area (ie dining room) under control. I will post a blog about my sewing space and stash in the next week or so (just need to get home to do so, I’m working in Melbourne these days!)

      Kyishia

      March 15, 2012 at 9:23 am

  4. […] To further complicate things, I received a fabric delivery this week!  Boy do I LOVE LOVE LOVE getting fabric in the mail!  The fabric at the top left corner is more of the Twirl fabric I used in this quilt. […]


Leave a Reply

