primaNOTION

Just another WordPress.com site

Nina’s Quilt: False Start

with one comment

Tuesday evening felt like a Friday since I didn’t have to go to work on Wednesday (ANZAC day, public holiday), so I took advantage and did some sewing.  I had an important conference call with the US for work otherwise I would have been at Claire’s sewing :-(.

I have found my motivation to get back in the sewing room!  I purchased the pattern for Nina’s quilt earlier this week and set out to cutting the required pieces.  This quilt is going to come together so quickly!  I managed to sew half of the blocks required for this quilt (50 of the 100 blocks).

We’ll call this a false start because as usual I don’t have enough fabric!  Nina want’s a throw/lap size quilt and I ordered a fat quarter bundle to start with, I never like to order too much fabric which means I’m usually short!  I have since placed an order for two shades of kona pink fabric and fingers crossed it arrives next week so I can get back to it!  Since I was on a roll I cut the remaining printed fabric and counted to ensure I wasn’t short there as well (here’s to planning ahead!)

Nina wanted a quilt that focused on pink and green, I think the additional pink solids will bring more pink into the picture but I’m linking the current mix of colors (especially the grey).  I hope Nina likes the progress.  I’ll report back more on this one when I have received my fabric order and completed the quilt top.

In the meantime this has been packaged up and placed in my work in progress bin.

On to the next project!

Written by Kyishia

April 26, 2012 at 8:55 am

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I love the colors!!! Thanks Soror!

    Nina Kelley

    May 8, 2012 at 11:48 pm


Leave a Reply

