primaNOTION

Just another WordPress.com site

More Custom Orders

leave a comment »

So there are only a few people who can “jump the line” and sneak in a quilt order to be made ASAP and one of these people did just that this week! Fortunately I was off a few days and waiting on more fabric for a few of my in progress quilts so I had plenty of time and opportunity to knock this out.

Nothing pleases me more than making a quilt from fabrics on my STASH!!! I really need to work on reducing my stash and making more quilts based on what I already have versus the yummy fabric I fall victim to at sales and while perusing the internet.

This pattern is my go to pattern for charm squares these days. I like my modification with a 4″ border and yall know I don’t usually incorporate borders on my quilts. I had two charm squares and the tumblers are so easy to cut that I cut and pieced the top in one sitting.

Hometown has been my favorite fabric released lately. I really LOVE this fabric, I LOVE fabric released by Sweetwater because alot of it has words! And I so love fabric with words on it!

I have a fat quarter bundle of Hometown still remaining in my stash but Leisha must be pretty special for me to agree to use some of my fav fabric for her request!!

I finished this quilt over three days. Day 1 I cut fabric and pieced the top (including the border) and I cut the backing fabric. I had some extra wide fabric for the back so all I needed was one piece of fabric (I LOVE WHEN THIS HAPPENS!!!). Day 2 I cut the batting and had to do some piecing since I miscut (ugghhhh!!). Luckily this didn’t take much time at all and I got right to the quilting. I also made the binding and let me tell you this binding is FABULOUS!!! I had just enough fabric to make the binding for the quilt. I’m a fan of paisley and it was a small miracle that the light blue matched PERFECTLY! Day 3 I sewed on the binding and started hand sewing the binding to the back.

This quilt came together really quickly and I’m glad. At this rate I will be able to get it in the post early this week and it should arrive well before the baby shower!

This quilt is a custom order for Leisha but for those interested there is a baby quilt still for sale in my Etsy store!

Written by Kyishia

April 30, 2012 at 8:16 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

