primaNOTION

Just another WordPress.com site

Disappearing Nine Patch Baby Quilt

leave a comment »

I have been fighting off a cold for over a week now. Despite spending several days at home from work and committed to my couch, I have still managed some productivity. Remember “my quilt“, I sent it off to be professionally long arm quilted (a very first for me), by Jeannette. Jeannette is another American living in Australia and she was in one of my quilting bees. She offered a bee discount (and I love a good sale) so I saw this as the perfect opportunity to have one of my quilts professionally finished. And she did an AMAZING job!! I received a fabric delivery this week that included the fabric for the binding so I hurried to finish sewing the binding on Friday in anticipation of Saturday’s Scquilter’s meeting, if you are interested in some pictures, head over to the blog (because I have not taken any yet!). I promise to do an outdoor photo shoot of my finished quilt once I complete the hand sewing of the binding….this alone may take me another month or two. Saturday at Scquilter’s was great. I had a fantastic time catching up with the other women who share my passion for quilting, and never hurts that there were a few my age as well ;-).

This week I also spent some time at Claire’s house doing a bit of sewing and running my mouth (like I like to do!). Sewing is so much fun with company!

Claire also helped me pull together a bundle for a new baby quilt. I’m in stash busting mode right now so I pulled out some fabrics and Claire was gracious enough to throw in a few pieces of Bliss fabric. Time flew by and it was time to go home before I knew it! When I got home I was still in the sewing zone so I cut all the squares required for quilt…talk about productive!

Claire convinced me to approach this differently than I initially anticipated, sewing three rows of three squares and then cutting down the middle (see picture to the right). These came together SO FAST!!! I was able to pick this up throughout the week (between my naps on the couch) and this top was finished before the weekend!

The picture quality is not the greatest, since we no longer have daylight savings it’s dark at 5pm which makes it impossible to get outdoor shots (unless I actually don’t snooze 3-4 times and get up to do it in the am!).

I pieced the back…really not sure why I haven’t done much of that lately because I really like the look of it! Now the quilt is sitting on my sewing machine to be quilted. I should have more pictures of this quilt by the weekend (fingers crossed) and if you happen to like this one then it will ultimately go for sale in my etsy shop!

Written by Kyishia

May 7, 2012 at 9:09 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

