primaNOTION

Just another WordPress.com site

Bee in Oz June: Jewelled Geese

leave a comment »

June’s bee block selected was flying geese constructed using jelly roll strips.  This was certainly intriguing because the only flying geese I have done were using paper piecing (and after this block I still prefer it!).  Munaiba (queen bee) sent these fabrics for us to work with.  I knew immediately I would be challenged.  These colors were outside of my comfort zone.  I think I like things to be matchy matchy (likely because I’m challenged when it comes to color coordination).  I tried to stay away from using the fabric in the top right hand corner because it was too dark and I couldn’t see how it would coordinate with the others.

Using these instructions, I was able to come up with this block.  I was determined to finish this block tonight and wasn’t even distracted by running out of thread!  I used the fabric from a spare bobbin to get the job done but I must get to a fabric shop tomorrow!

Fingers crossed that Munaiba will like it!  I’m curious to see the other blocks, I was the first to complete and get a picture posted!  This will be mailed tomorrow (if my day goes as planned).  I have two other blocks to get done for bees before the end of the month.  I am really aiming to get them done this week so that I can focus on my quilt projects that need to be completed before I head back to the States (two as gifts and one is a custom order for a paying customer!).

Written by Kyishia

June 5, 2011 at 11:00 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a comment